#3 Sisters Abroad.

I was turning the big 60 last year and my sisters thought a trip over to Europe would be the way to celebrate it.  They left it up to me to which one we did.  So then the confusion started. Do we do a cruise, a train trip or a bus trip or combine them. I was on the internet looking at trips, cruise’s.  The house was filled with travel brochures and any spare time I had would be reading them, marking them and then charging my mind.  By the time I had made my mind up (and that can be hard to do), we were then booked on a cruise that would leave Basel in Switzerland and head up the Rhine to Amsterdam. This cruise was for 7 days and 3 days in Paris.  It was decided that we would stay another couple of days in Paris and stay a night in Zürich on the way to our cruise.

Just before the bookings closed I asked my long time friend Lyn to join us.  Lyn was also turning 60 so it would have been a huge celebration.  She jumped at the chance.  The two of us talked every day on Facebook about what we were taking, buying etc.  So excited.

Unfortunately 7 weeks before we were due to fly my dear friend had a freak accident that ended with broken leg foot etc with plates and several screws.

First Tip: Always make sure you have travel insurance.

We 3 chatted on the phone regularly  sent emails on  what were we going to pack so we could  share the load.

I hadn’t traveled since 1999, when I went to the States for 4 weeks. Before that I had been to Thailand a lifetime ago and Great Britain back when I was 16. My 2 older sisters have traveled a bit more than me.  My sister Paula had been to Europe many times and the last time to Paris was only 4 years ago. Muriel the eldest, has been to Egypt, Hawaii , London, Paris and Singapore.

3 Sisters. would we fight, argue, or just enjoy the time together .  Who are we?

Muriel, the eldest, a widow, a teacher, mother of 3 children, several grandchildren and great grand children. Loves to dance and sing and plays the piano.

Paula, married and still in love with her hubby Mike,  mother of 3 children, 2 grandchildren. Loves to travel, garden and my co partner with the wine.

Bree – me,   single (divorced but it was a long time ago) Mother of 2 children.  Loves to read, dance, walk the dogs, Tai Chi and help Paula finish the bottle of wine. Travel, my heart now wants to travel and travel I will.  I also have 2 Rare Diseases, Tuberous Sclerosis and Lymphangioleiomyomatosis – Lam Lung Disease , Hashimotos Thyroid Disease, Meniers Disease, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, high blood pressure, Anxiety .  I think that’s it.

This blog is about our Trip to Europe, the funny bits, the not so funny and the wonderful places and things we saw and did.  The people we met on the trip, the long-lasting friendships

There will be some tips on what to take, what to leave at home.

What worked and what didn’t work for us.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “3 Sisters Abroad

Leave a Reply

